5 Shopping Cart
Your cart has been updated
checkout
Categories

How to Set or Recall Preference Settings in Adobe Premiere Pro

Andy LaViolette

Transferring settings and presets from one computer to another is a quick and easy way to be a more productive video editor.

Top image via Shutterstock.

Video editing on multiple computers is a common occurrence. Whether it’s as simple as switching between your desktop and laptop or working on both a home and office computer, transferring your preferences and presets to each computer increases productivity. Using your Adobe Creative Cloud account, you can transfer settings and presets to any computer with Adobe Premiere Pro CC.


Step One: Manage Your Sync Settings

Go to the Premiere Pro menu at the top of the screen, select either your Adobe Creative Cloud email address or the Sync Now option (if you’ve never done this before then you will see Sync Now), then select “Manage Sync Settings.”

How to Set or Recall Preference Settings in Adobe Premiere Pro — 1

I recommend selecting all three check boxes (Preferences/Settings, Workspace Layouts, and Keyboard Shortcuts) so that your user interface will be exactly the same no matter which computer you are using. Click the dropdown menu to the right of the “When syncing” option and select “Ask My Preference.” This will be useful later, depending on if you are at your primary or secondary computer. Click “OK” to save your changes.

How to Set or Recall Preference Settings in Adobe Premiere Pro — 2


Step Two: Upload Your Desired Presets to Adobe Creative Cloud

Go back to the “Premiere Pro CC” dropdown menu at the top left of the screen, select “Sync Now” or your Creative Cloud ID, then select “Sync Settings Now.”

How to Set or Recall Preference Settings in Adobe Premiere Pro — 3

Select “Upload Settings” in the Sync Settings dialogue box. Your settings have now been uploaded to your Creative Cloud account.

How to Set or Recall Preference Settings in Adobe Premiere Pro — 4

If this is your first time uploading settings, you will be redirected to a login page in your internet browser where you will need to enter your Adobe Creative Cloud login information.

How to Set or Recall Preference Settings in Adobe Premiere Pro — 5

Afterward, Adobe Premiere will automatically close, and your settings will be applied the next time the program opens.

How to Set or Recall Preference Settings in Adobe Premiere Pro — 6

As a failsafe, repeat the steps above to upload settings before leaving your primary workstation.


Step Three: Download Your Presets to Any Computer

Repeat the steps under “Manage Your Sync Settings” so that Adobe Premiere asks if you would like to upload or download settings. Next, go to the Premiere Pro CC menu in the upper left of your screen, select your Adobe Creative Cloud ID (or “Use Settings From a Different Account” if you are not on a computer you own) and select “Sync Settings Now.”

How to Set or Recall Preference Settings in Adobe Premiere Pro — 7

Select “Download Settings” in the Sync Settings dialogue box.

How to Set or Recall Preference Settings in Adobe Premiere Pro — 8

Another dialogue box will appear indicating that “Premiere must close the project to download and apply these settings.” Click “OK.”  The next time Premiere opens, the last settings saved to your Adobe Creative Cloud ID will apply to this particular computer.


Have any Premiere Pro editing tips? Let us know in the comments.